Shrimp, Shrimp, & Cake! But not all together

I have the need to cook! Does anyone else just ever get antsy and feel they have to cook something, anything?

There’s been a cooking spree in my house lately! Which for me isn’t extremely crazy considering a spree to me is like 2 days straight. I’m pretty hooked on pasta with veggies and shrimp. Though I am looking for a good salmon recipe. If you know of any, please point me in that direction (unless there are tomatoes. I hate tomatoes!)!

I recently discovered the gloriousness of cooking blogs and let’s just say my list of recipes is adding up a lot faster than I can cook. There’s one blog in particular that is such a great frenemy to me. I say this because 80% of the recipes are desserts and well, I’m trying to cut back on those caloric temptations.

The only sweet treat I’ve produced from How Sweet It Is are the Pink Velvet Cake Balls. I don’t like red velvet cake though, so I dyed my vanilla cake pink to give it a little pizzaz. They were like the best dessert I’ve ever had. Ever!

Keep in mind that I’d never had any type of cake ball before and didn’t know what to expect. Needless to say, my friends and I gobbled them all up!

I highly recommend trying them or really anything on her blog.

Just the other night, I used her recipe for Shrimp & Bacon Risotto. It turned out pretty well!

I've already devoured most of it!

This was my first time cooking with wine and making risotto. I’d say it was a win, and I owe a lot of thanks to my phone for letting me google and YouTube all the cooking terms I didn’t understand.

I did tweak her recipe a little bit to make it healthier by using turkey bacon instead of pork. Also, I think the risotto was “too homey” feeling. I have no other way to describe it, but I wasn’t a fan. So I think next time I will use chicken broth instead of chicken stock to keep the chicken flavor down….Too many meat flavors all at once.

Otherwise, delicious! Ate some more today actually. If you divide it into 3 servings, it’s only about 350 calories per serving. I eat a little less than the serving and am full, so yay low cal meal!

I’m also subscribed to Cooking Light magazine which is where I got my Creamy Shrimp, Veggies, & Linguine recipe. I don’t have a link to it unfortunately :(

It too was delicious, but since the creaminess was made mostly of melted cream cheese, there wasn’t a lot of taste. I fixed that by adding half a cup of shredded mozzarella. Bam! Flavor instantly and oh so good! I will share the recipe with you next time I am home.

Trust me, you’ll want it!

Looks good doesn't it?

Promise I’ll give you the recipe and share with you how my cake balls turned out because they are amazing! If you subscribe to one food blog ever, and I mean EVER, then you need to choose How Sweet It Is. Awesomeness!!

About brookeypoo

25 year old Accounting post-graduate with the need to start my own business. I'm just not sure what that business is yet. Any suggestions?
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

