Crochet for a Cure

As you know, I’m looking to start my own business. While trying to come up with some fun and unique ideas, I came across this site: Crochet for a Cure . They sell their handmade crochet items and donate 50% to the American Cancer Society. They are doing this in memory and support of a loved one lost to cancer.

I like the concept of their company and the reason behind it, but they haven’t had many people visit the site. I don’t know why, but I’m thinking it might not be a popular subject or just lack of SEO.

What got me interested in their site was a search for the actual title of their page. I wanted to see if someone had already started a company like that because I was interested in it. While their website is small scale and involves only their handmade items, I have some bigger ideas.

If there is an interest, I want to create a non-profit Crochet for the Cure company where anyone can give handmade crochet items to the company and 100% of the proceeds are donated. They can send the items or drop them off at local dropbox locations (mostly in metroplexes, until/unless this gets big enough to include smaller cities and towns). Naturally, I say crochet because it’s what I know, but knit work would be just as welcome.

I’m not sure what cancer society the money would be donated to, but I’m thinking that a note from the maker could be attached to the item if there is a specified organization(from a predetermined list) they would like the proceeds from their craft to go to.  Also, I think it might be neat if any of the crocheters that are cancer patients or survivors attached a note to the item about themselves or with words of encouragement.

I know that I would include breast cancer among the top that I would like to donate to as I have had friends and coworkers affected by it. Other than that, I am open to suggestions.

Also, if there is quite a bit of interest in this, I think it would be neat to host a day where everyone gets together in their own metroplex and Crochets for a Cure.

I don’t know how popular this would be or if there is even any interest in it. If there is, please let me know because I am seriously interested in doing this or something like it.

Have any ideas/concerns/thoughts/ on this? Any and all would be appreciated!

About brookeypoo

25 year old Accounting post-graduate with the need to start my own business. I'm just not sure what that business is yet. Any suggestions?
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

