My new scarf’s first trip!

I hope everyone had a great Christmas! I know I did. Texas finally had a cold front move through and it is now freezing outside. I love it!!

I had to venture out once tonight to return some Redbox movies and was actually really excited to do it. Why? Well, I’ve been crocheting scarves since October, but it hasn’t been cold enough to wear any. The friends/family that I gave scarves to for Christmas all live in places cold enough for scarves and were able to break in my creations already.

However, I live further South than everyone else and have been craving to wear my new hobby outside. Tonight, I got to do just that!!! 🙂

I have to say I am very pleased with my blue scarf. I used a basic shell stitch on it and used one of the “made for baby” yarns, so it is super soft. (I used this to learn the stitch: Shell stitch. Theresa is a great crochet teacher). It felt so good to wear my own creation in front of the world. I can’t wait to do it again!! I’m also really excited to tell anyone that compliments it, that I made it. Obviously, I’m a bragger, but that’s fine with me!

I also just finished the scarf shown below tonight. I think I’m going to be putting this one in my Etsy shop (when I get one). I love the pattern on this scarf and I don’t think that pictures do it justice. I’ve used this pattern on quite a few different scarves; adjusting it for various size yarns. I have never added the single crochet edging/trim on it as the creator suggests. **There is a correction that needs to be made if you do use it. Instead of chaining 21, you need to chain 23 or your work will be off.** Also, in the beginning, add 4 chains or subtract 4  to make the scarf skinnier or wider.

If you have trouble with that pattern, the creator is very responsive and helpful, or you can ask me. I’m pretty much a pro with this pattern now.

Sorry, these are the best pictures I could get in my current lighting situation. The scarf is a deep purple color and is 5″ wide and 76″ long. I made it with Caron Simply Soft and it lives up to the name….so soft!!

I’m always looking for pretty and creative scarves (especially fast ones, as I have a few requests from family right now), so if you know of any or have any favorites, please share!!

On a sidenote, if anyone knows any good dog sweater tutorial, I would be very thankful as I’m having trouble understanding even the “beginner” ones.

Again, I hope everyone had a Very Merry Christmas! I enjoyed my family time and can’t wait for New Year’s Eve!

About brookeypoo

25 year old Accounting post-graduate with the need to start my own business. I'm just not sure what that business is yet. Any suggestions?
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

