From MIA to Back Again

Okay, okay, I know. I suck at posting frequently. I’m working on doing better. I promise. I really am!

It’s summer time here in the heart of Texas, and man is it hhhhooooooottttttttttttttttttt!

I mean, I don’t even want to be outside most days unless I’m lounging in a pool. However, about a month ago, a friend and I decided we were going to sign up for a 5k. I’ve been sweating it up in the heat with my dog just trying to get back into shape where I could even do a 5k.

I average about 4 miles a workout now, but I would love to cut my time in half. Why? Well, if I’m going to be in a 5k, I sure as heck don’t want to be last to cross the finish. I’d much rather be first and get some type of award…even if it’s just a stupid ribbon!

What can I say? I love to win!

I had a whole day of it on Sunday when my best friend came to town. All we do is play games. Board games. Computer games. Video games. Card games. Anything and everything. I think the score of the day ended up being ME: 30  HER: 2

It’s pretty awesome! I’m very competitive and hate to lose…which is why I win…or I won’t do something ’til I know I can win.

I’m not a very experienced runner though and could use any and all help I can get.

Any suggestions/secrets/tips/helpful hints? What works for you when you’re running? Or what keeps you motivated? I kind of lack in the motivation since I hate running and I hate sweating. Bleh!

For those of you who run with iPhones: I use the iMapmyfitness app. It tracks your mileage, pace, time, calories, and trail. Amazing!

Not a necessity, but it is fun to use and it motivates me to pick up my speed every time I look at my pace.

Maybe with enough motivation I won’t hate running or sweating.

But I doubt it!

About brookeypoo

25 year old Accounting post-graduate with the need to start my own business. I'm just not sure what that business is yet. Any suggestions?
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

