Here’s to a Happy Life! Cheers!

I’ve been thinking a lot about life and where I want to be lately. I see all my friends going off and being happy making money at their corporate jobs. They’re happy being just another robot in the machine. But I’m not!

I just finished eating dinner with a friend who recently moved away for one of those corporate jobs. She sounds happy and has money to spend, but her work doesn’t seem to challenge her or interest her that much. Doesn’t she deserve to be doing something she loves? After eating with her, I came home to my Inc. Magazine and continued reading about all of these amazing people and companies and all of the things they are doing in the world. It made me realize that there are so many opportunities, so why am I just standing still? Time on Earth doesn’t last forever.

One of the stories in the magazine even said that they kept pushing off starting a company because they thought there would always be a tomorrow to do it. Then, their friend died and it was like a reality kick to the face. Time is precious and limited, so make the best of it while you’re still alive and kickin’.

After all that, and my desire for my own company, I have made a 2 year list of goals.

MY GOALS IN THE NEAR FUTURE:

1. To be gainfully self-employed (doesn’t really matter what I’m doing as long as I’m happy doing it)

2. To be doing something I love everyday! Whether that be working or taking care of the house, though I doubt the latter would interest me much.

3. To be excited to wake up (day or night, but preferably afternoon) and live with what the day has waiting for me.

4. To still be happily in a relationship! Because what is life without love?

5. To travel often. I have too many aspirations and fantasies to not see the world. A world traveler is a must in my life. I don’t want the boring old tourist attractions, but the real sites of the world, and the real people and places of the towns I visit. How I get there doesn’t really matter. Plane, train, boat, even a hot air balloon would be an adventure in itself.

 

6. To make my customers happy because without them I would have no business, no money, and no happiness in work. Also, probably because of them I would have some aggravation in work too. But that’s just part of the world today.

7. To have financial freedom. As I write this, I’m sitting in my living room on a beanbag chair because I can’t afford furniture for the living room. The wireless driver in my computer is broken, so I have to connect by cable and it is all hooked up in the living room. It sure is silent in here without a tv or radio making all the noise. I want to be able to afford even these small luxuries in life and that’s just not happening when I do things the way the world primes people to work and live.

8. To come up with a few business ideas, so I can have multiple places to go in life. I’m always seeing the potential in my friends and what they could be doing if they just tried, but the majority won’t. They stick to the traditional corporate values that have been pushed upon them since birth. If I can see the potential in people, why not in businesses and in ideas?

Start off simple: a bed and breakfast catered to the area and providing activities and travel to certain locations, an accessory for some new technology, a website that allows employers to recruit strictly students for events or other such stuff, a shot bar, any business where I can work the finances of it, a tour business where I plan out fun things catered to different ages and groups of people for specific areas, write a book (haha, I’ve tried. I’ve made it 3 pages in 3 years), or something extraordinary!

Any ideas? I’m slowly dying at a job that I don’t love, even if I do love my bosses and enjoy the work. It’s just not what I want to do for the rest of life.

About brookeypoo

25 year old Accounting post-graduate with the need to start my own business. I'm just not sure what that business is yet. Any suggestions?
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here’s to a Happy Life! Cheers!

  1. derekwayne says:

    Reblogged this on I Want To Be Happy and commented:
    Totally love this, being happy in life is the most important thing to me. I hope everyone can find that one thing in their life that makes them jump out of bed in the morning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

