When do we learn?

In keeping up with all of the Obamacare changes, I was just wondering when we, as a country, are going to learn from our mistakes?

This has been plaguing me for the past few weeks and I need to get it all out, so let me explain. Affordable healthcare for everyone is a great goal. I love the idea, just not necessarily the follow-through. I’m 25 going on 26 in a few days and I am signed with my parent’s healthcare thanks to the ACA. Unfortunately, this means I’m not going to be covered as of the day before my birthday (that’s this Thursday!). My current employers don’t offer health insurance which leaves me the exchanges in October because I know I can’t afford to go buy individual insurance right now.

Signing on for individual healthcare in October? It’s a little worrisome to have to go a whole month without health insurance, but then I remind myself that I rarely get sick or injured. Why do I need health insurance again? Oh right, if I get in an accident or become really ill. What are the odds of that? No, seriously. If anyone has statistics on that, I would love to know because I’d like to weigh my options of having health insurance vs. not making those monthly payments.

Anyway, all of this brings me back to my original question: when are we going to learn? If history has taught us anything, it has taught us that the government, try as they might, isn’t that great at taking over a private industry and not making it a money pit. Social security, education, space exploration, and even transportation.

Based on everything I’ve been reading lately regarding young people like me signing up on the exchanges, it’s scary. The ACA needs people like me to sign up on the exchanges to cover the costs of the really sick and elderly. That’s a great goal, but with people my age already supporting the social security system (which will long die before we ever receive any of it), I’m a little hesitant about paying into a healthcare system where I will essentially be doing the same thing.

If the social security thing isn’t working, why will the healthcare? Yes, I know it originally worked well, but nothing is meant to last forever. A good business person knows when it’s time to change, adapt, and throw away ideas. And ultimately, the U.S. is a business and it’s running itself dry.

Until we can learn to enact programs that aren’t already doomed for failure and are more cost-effective or, dare I say, profitable, then we might as well sit back and watch the federal

Now, I’ve said my piece, so bring on the hate and arguing that always follows with political crap.

About brookeypoo

25 year old Accounting post-graduate with the need to start my own business. I'm just not sure what that business is yet. Any suggestions?
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

